Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Many believe that domestic garbage is not recycled adequately and regulatory bodies has to take actions to legislate as a means of primary way to encourage citizens towards recycling. This essay will agree with the above statement because, financial and other incentives no longer play a vital role as a waste recycle strategy and impose a mild punishment will benefit in larger scale.

Governments have taken several measures to ensure that more and more waste from homes is recycled. Providing financial rewards and encourage people to involve actively in garbage collection are some of the actions that mentioned above. For instance, giving opportunity to collect household waste and earn some pocket money was thought to be a huge success in Sri Lanka, but failed recently. Therefore, laws should be established to make sure that the responsibility which disseminated through people of the country as well as government.

Moreover, it is too great to leave the world's future on average people's hand. Ordinary person has extraordinary day-to-day issues to tackle with. From imposing a little contribution to community service to imprisonment for several months means a major concern in human life rather than sacrifice many lives in future. Garbage mountains in Bluemendal and Meethotamulla area in Sri Lanka are the worst case scenario of this burning issue.

To conclude, it is justifiable to implement laws by authorities to force people towards recycling of household rubbish. Though incentives have no value in this process, laws can be the lead to a better future.