In todays modern society more and more people are becoming obese.

What are the causes of obesity?

And what can be done to control this common problem?

It is true that the obesity among population is increasing in recent years. There are several reasons why this trend happening, but variety of measures can be taken to adress this issue.

There are two main factors which lead overweight among the larger proportion of people recently. Firstly, individuals gain more weight because of the sedentary lifestyle which is brought by the modern technology. For example, people do not exert themselves as they used to be because of the computers. They tend to spend most of their time surfing the internet specially in social media, playing games or watching videos. Secondly, consumption of fast or junk food be the other culprit for becoming obese. These food such as burgers, chips or pizzas contains high calaries which causes the increased fat deposits, and eventually overweight and obesity.

Several measures can be implemented to solve this issue on individual basis, and by the government level in larger scale. Increase the intake of more healthy meals which contain low calaries, and high nutritional contents like greener vegetables and fruits instead of food which consist of refined sugar and starch such as cakes and pastries will be beneficial to a well balanced life. A person can also engage in a regular physical activity, for instance, brisk walking or swimming to maintain optimum weight. Furthermore, government can arrange some activities and facilities to make the population keep-fit and healthy by facilitating the infrastructure. These can be building a gym or a park for people to workout, and a regular breaks for office employees to exert thethemselves during working hours.

While there are some clear reasons for the increasing number of obese people in the society these days, several steps should be taken to tackle the problem.