Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some believe that learn a language besides the mother tongue is only beneficial for travel or work in another country. But, many think that this is a wise decision because of many reasons. This essay will explain what are the other reasons for such a great idea to learn a foreign language.

To begin, people generally tend to travel or work in other countries these days as never before. Technological advances, networking and globalization are some of the facts which encourages this preference. In order to succeed in a foreign country as a professional, being able to communicate that countries' official language is crucial. Also, understand and speak the language of a country, makes the holiday travel more exited and enjoying. Therefore anyone who wish to work or travel in a foreign country should learn that countries' language.

But, being a bilingual or multilingual is far more beneficial. For instance, language is the door to explore a new culture. In fact, acquire the ability of the language means have the opportunity to being part of the respective culture as a primary member rather than foreigner. In addition to this, music, literature, cinema and many other entertainment would be more enjoyable without the obstacle of language barrier. For example, watching an English movie understanding the language is rather entertaining watching the film with subtitles in Sinhalese.

In conclusion, some think that learn a foreign language is only advantageous for work and travel in another country. But, others may argue that there are plenty of reasons for this choice. I truly believe in my opinion that there are huge amounts of reasons for learning a foreign language.