Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, the governments have truly invested a huge amount of money to expand the different communicative ways including railways and roads. When some people like me believe that a considerable of budget in transportation should allocate to trains, others assume it is not a right approach. In this essay, I intend to present some reasons for my position as follows.

In one hand, it seems that more passengers can effortlessly travel by trains rather than cars especially in the peak hours it really would be annoying to stick into traffic jam. One particularly salient example is some overcrowded cities like New York and Bangkok that individuals have to bear a high volume of noises in the traffic. Affordability is the slightly contributing factor as people can find the railway transportation price is remarkably cheaper than other forms.

On the other hand, it is an irrefutable fact that environmental problems have turned into one of the contentious issues. In other words considerable amount of air pollution and global warming associated with the vehicles which emitted annually thousands tones carbon dioxide into atmosphere. Admittedly, the train has the little contribution in this matter in comparing with the same diesel vehicles.

Overall, there are a wide range of opinions in term of transportation expansions but I reaffirm my view that the benefits of spending money on railways are far much than roads and has the less detrimental side effects for nature, so-called environment-friendly.