Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Currently, infrastructure facilities are one of the focal points, that all governments around the world focus on, especially on its rapid development. So, when the question, whether it is better to invest money in the railway or the roads, arises, people seem to have divergent opinions about it. Looking from the overall perspective, I reckon that putting money into the railway evolving is quite more prosperous rather than into roads network.

First and foremost, the railway transportation causes several times less environmental pollution in comparison with cars and other kinds of road public vehicles. The amount of greenhouse gases that are produced daily by car drivers on the daily basis is dramatically high, what lead to majority of other climate disorders. As opposed to the road transport, the railway commuting way is much safer due to the statistics of road and railway accidents. Besides, the railway means of transport could carry several hundred passengers at once, whereas ordinary car could transport just a few. In addition to all mentioned above, the population rapid growth leads to the increasing importance to direct financial resources towards development of railway network, which provides faster and secure movements for long distances. For example, in Singapore, the government have erected an effective and convenient railway system, which is called MRT, thus citizens almost refused the utilization of their own means of transport.

On the other hand, roads are the most common routes of peoples commutes around the city day in day out. Thousands of citizens drive their cars to the work departments and back, when other part of non-drivers uses public transportation as usual. Many developing countries as well as tiny towns in developed nations are plagued by poor abandoned roads systems, which give rise to the level of traffic congestions and road accidents. For instance, the majority of residents in Volgograd region in Moscow, where the size of population is hovering above 500 thousand people, are highly unsatisfied with road infrastructure. They have lodged plethora complains about the inability to move around the city on their vehicles, if they do not have a tank in the garage. Nevertheless, there is a well-developed railway system that alleviates their ways of commuting around the whole country.

To conclude, I believe, that despite the necessity of contribution to the road systems construction, railway stations worldwide could be more beneficial for the population overall in long perspective.