Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, the phenomenon of railways expansion around the world and its corresponding impacts have sparked a debate. In this regard, apart from various advantages of roads, some people believe that the federal budgets should be spent on spreading railways. In my view, extra funds to expand railroad networks, eventually leads to positive outcomes in terms of economical purposes and tourism, while we shouldn’t lose sight of roads’ advocates.

Obviously, the use governmental resources to spread railways both domestically and internationally paves the way to the short-term and long-term economical benefits. For instance, by using more trains which are moving on broad railroads goods will be transported remarkably more efficient. With respect to efficiency, fuel consumption per unit of carried goods will dramatically declined and so the fare of transportation will tend to downward. Meanwhile, environmental concerns such as greenhouse gas emissions and deforestation because of making more roads will relieve.

Furthermore, tourism and travel industry can benefit railway expansion which should be developed by governments. As tangible example, through various types of railway coaches, say, subways, trams, and traditional trains far more people can be transported at the same time. It is likely through connecting inter-nations’ railroads, the number of trips to visit foreign countries may experience a considerable climb.

On the other hand, others are of the opinion that governments should pay to make more roads. They highlight several advantages of a wide road network across country, such as the ease of using one’s own vehicle and the opportunity to pull over wherever they want to enjoy landscapes. In addition, studies prove that the share of roads regarding both passengers and goods transportation cannot be overlooked.

To sum up, despite several compelling argument on cons and pros of this matter, I am inclined to believe that the merits of spending money on railway rather than road by governments far outweigh its downsides. Eventually, which one is your preference: waiting in a traffic congestion for hours a day or the pleasure of sitting in high-speed congestion-free trains?