With growing populations in cities, more and more people live in homes with little or no outdoor space. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The population growth in urban areas in recent times has a wide range of effects on these areas. One of such significant outcomes is the reduction in the outdoor space attached to different houses that people in these cities live. While the population growth is a positive indicator of development in most societies, especially in terms of economy development, people living in homes without open fields is a negative development.

Growth is an indicator of a progressive society whether in the education, industrial or economy sector. However, people living in houses devoid of backyard reveals a community plagued with poor environmental sustainability plan. For instance, houses in the past are structured to give space for gardening or other relaxation activities. This further promotes a green environment where plants – vegetables or flowers, are tendered. In addition, activities like these bring pleasures and relaxation to the home owners, thereby aiding mental health stability. Since the advent of the new trends of home structure, these benefits have been reduced and only few wealthy individuals are able to afford houses with open fields.

Furthermore, most recent homes are located few distances away from major highways and the industries. Also, building construction agencies now build houses in buildings with multiple floors. This minimalist idea to accommodate the population increase further reduces the outdoor spaces and most houses are prone to residential accidents. Even though the compacted space is a ground for improved societal interactions, many residents of such homes prefer to remain in their space and ‘mind their businesses.’

In conclusion, though increased population growth in cities is an indicator of growth in other aspect of the society, its impact on the available open field to residential houses in recent times are detrimental to the society.