The growth of major cities leads to some negative effects. What problems do young people living in these cities face? What solutions for these effects?

Many people believe that the development of metropolis brings many negative impacts on young residents. The following essay will explain the problems of this trend and suggest some solutions to mitigate these potential issues.

For many young people, the main problem of living in large cities is the pressure to obtain a job. The fast-growing economic development of major cities and the higher wages in urban areas attract many workers from different parts of a country. As a result of this, the job market is highly competitive and young adults might face many difficulties to secure a good-paying position. Moreover, the pressure of finding a job may cause detriments to the mental health of young workers such as depression, anxiety and stressful.

Another problem is that the growth of major towns might lead to a dramatic increase in house price. For many young employees with an average level of monthly salary, it is a great challenge for them to have enough financial savings to purchase a property in the urban areas. Therefore, many young people decide that instead of saving enough money to purchase real estate, it is better to borrow from the bank. However, the fluctuation in borrowing rate and the down payment of a house may cause a financial burden for young city dwellers.

There are several actions that could be taken to eradicate the problems described above. The first solution is that instead of competing for a job in the city, individuals could choose a different place to develop their career. Small cities, the countryside and foreign countries, for example, are potential places for youngsters to find work. Another measure is that the government could provide incentives for young people if they decide to purchase their first home. For instance, land tax reduction and subsidized home loans provided by the government could ease the financial burden that many young home buyers are facing.

In conclusion, living in large towns may cause many negative effects to young dwellers and the government and each person could have a variety of solutions to mitigate these consequences.