In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extend family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays, city dwellers have a tendency to live in a single or nuclear family rather than a large extended family. From my own perspective, it is a positive trend because of two major factors involved.

The first reason is that living alone requires a person to have sufficient income and perform all the daily duties such as cooking and cleaning. As a result of this, young adults could become financially independent from their parents and they could make their own decisions with their lives. The cultivation of independent habits could then move to other areas and it could potentially increase the self-esteem of young people. Moreover, it is important for youngsters to demonstrate their independent skills because many employers prefer to hire candidates who can work independently.

The second reason is that there are many benefits for children who live in a small family. In many cities, it is common to see that both parents are working to earn a salary. As there are fewer babies in nuclear families, the income of two parents could provide a better living standard for their kids. It means that the children could receive better education, healthy foods and better medical treatment. In comparison, parents of large families might have a financial burden to nurture more children and they must work additional jobs to secure more income. Therefore, the parents would have less time to interact and educate their children. As a consequence of parents’ negligence, the kids may have social negative effects such as smoking, joining gang or committing crime.

In conclusion, I believe individuals could develop better independent skill when they live alone and the children could have various benefits of living in a small size family.