In many part of the world, people do research in their family history. Some people believe that finding out about previous generations is an useful thing to do. Other however, it is better to focus on present and future generations. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years, many people spend money to find the linkage with their ancestors while others focus on the present and future of their families. In my opinion, researching about the past, the present and the future generations are equally important.

On the one hand, researching our ancestry brings several benefits. Understanding the origin of ancestors and their past achievements could improve the self-esteem and confident of many individuals and, as a result of this, it might encourage people to continue preserving their heritage and family traditions. Another advantage is that people can prevent genetic disorders by carefully examine the past historical records of their family members. There are many genetic diseases which the future generations are inherited from their ancestries such as Down syndrome, cancer and diabetes. By researching the family history, people may aware of the potential risk of developing genetic disorders and they could have early preventative measures to avoid illness.

On the other hand, it is argued that the present and future generations should receive more attention than looking at the past. The reason for this is that there are many negative impacts on the present generations which require immediate actions from the people rather than discovering historical connections. Drug abuse, food poisoning and raising unemployment rate are some examples of the immediate threats to the living of many individuals. Another reason is that history cannot be changed and therefore, family members should invest their financial resources to change the future. Instead of spending time to research the history, people could use the available resources to build more schools, hospitals and infrastructure to ensure a sustainable environment for the future development of younger generations.

In conclusion, I believe that understanding the past ancestors and investing for the present and future generations are equally important as there are many benefits on both sides.