People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Nowadays, globalization creates opportunity for people to live and work in a different nation. Many people believe that foreigners should follow traditional customs of the place they want to settle. I agree with this statement as there are many benefits if an outsider could follow local rules.

On the one hand, it is argued that each people has the right to practice their own customs. This is due to different beliefs between foreigners and local people and therefore, the freedom of practicing religions should be respected. Moreover, by allowing others not to strictly follow the local customs, the community would look more attractive and friendly toward foreigners. This would attract more investment from wealthy migrants and lure high-skilled workers who are interested to live in a tolerant and receptive community.

On the other hand, there are numerous benefits if people could practice the same traditions of local residents. The first reason is that if a newcomer could understand and able to perform traditional habit, it is easier to gain friends. Locals are often proud of their traditional heritage and they would have great respect for those to follow their customs. The second benefit is that new migrants could avoid violating local laws and regulations. In many countries, unfollowing traditional customs could be sentenced and be kept in jail. As a result of this, newcomers should research and follow local customs before establishing their lives in a new country. Finally, understanding the traditional behavior of local business owners could open new employment opportunities for newcomers as the employers prefer to work with ones who share the same habits as theirs.

In conclusion, there are many arguments of whether people should not follow common practice of the locals. However, I believe that if a person would like to live stable in a new environment, it is better for them to adopt local practices.