People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree.
In the modern busy life, there are a large number of immigrants who have been
willing to have a comfortable life in other nations. Many advocate that people
should conform to the local customs and traditions when they settle in a new
country. From my respective, I strongly agree with this idea because of some
problems and benefits that people can face with them.
There are two important reasons why newcomers should blend into the local
culture in the host country. Firstly, the refusal to adapt to host environment would
create a cultural barrier for immigrants. This leads to social isolation, which has
negative influences on people’s lives. Secondly, it is logical/true that limited
knowledge of local customs may result in some illegal actions in the host country
and make local/native people unpleased. For instance, in Singapore, one of the
cleanest countries in Asia, local residents consider anyone dirty and ill-mannered
if they litter the street or spit gum in the public.
Newcomers can gain some benefits if they adopt the customs and traditions of a
new country. One benefit is that if immigrants behave in accordance with the local
norms, they will be accepted easily by local inhabitants, and as a result, they can
receive/gain respects and affections as well as some help from the local. For
example, when the enterprises want to expand their production in a new country,
they must be aware of business practices there, which provides them with useful
information to maximise profits. Another benefit is that newcomers might gain the
richness of knowledge by virtue of the local customs and traditions, which enables
them to actively participate in the activities of the community. In many festivals,
people are able to participate/join freely and feel harmonious like their own
country.
In conclusion, I would argue that people who dwell in a new country should
follow the customs and traditions which local people observe.