People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Many people starting to reside in a new country are often advised to adapt themselves to the local customs and traditions. I completely agree with this opinion.

On the one hand, you can disappoint the local residents or even make them angry if you do not obey their living customs or traditions. Furthermore, foreigners can unconsciously commit criminal actions, which are considered to be legal in their countries, leading to tremendous problems. For instance, you are not allowed to wear shorts or miniskirts when travelling to some royal places in Thailand. Even worse, illegality can be attributed to an inappropriate action or attitude towards the Thai king or the royal family members. Similarly, Japanese might be upset when you enter their traditional houses without removing your shoes.

Nevertheless, following local customs and traditions enables you to adapt to the new living environment more quickly, and you can make new friends more easily. You may also learn many new stimulating things from the local culture, which enhance your knowledge and experience about life. For example, if you want to start a business in an alienating country, a broad knowledge about the way people live or their habits will be enormous advantages what help you increase your trading profit. Also, foreign students immersing themselves in the local culture quickly can overcome culture-shock or any cultural differences.

In conclusion, I would argue that the local customs and traditions are extremely crucial for a person to follow if he or she wants to integrate fully into the new society.