Knowing how to make a group presentation is the most important skill for anyone in the world of work today.

How important are presentation and public speaking skills, compared to various other work skills? which skill is the most important ability for most people these days?

In this day and age, personal career advancement requires great effort and competence, especially in professional working environments. It is true that public speaking skills are among the most important factors forming success, but there are two abilities appearing to be more essential, which I will evaluate now.

Firstly, self-learning skills should be perceived as the key value making a successful person. In many professions, not only are people required to learn quickly, they must know how to apply their knowledge into their work effectively. It is true that self-learning is a stress-free process enabling people to learn everywhere and anytime they want, hence enhances their time-management skills which are also crucial to their career success. For example, in the medical field, doctors devote their time and attention to examining medical issues as well as serving their patients rather than practicing public speaking skills. We can also see this in the way many scientists have significantly changed the world by their inventions and discoveries, which fundamentally relied on their self-learning, not presentation abilities.

Secondly, teamwork skills have increasingly considered as a must in many professional environments such as international companies or organizations. Beside the abilities to communicate verbally and non-verbally via means of communication like computers or telephones, people must know how to cooperate effectively with their colleges or peers. Ultimately, a strong team in which each individual can work together well is a valuable asset of any organization. More importantly perhaps, working in a team means people are also able to learn from a diverse range of knowledge and skills from their coworkers, including presentation or public speaking abilities.

Overall, while I acutely grasp the importance of presentation skills in career progression because they help people demonstrate their ideas or knowledge more effectively, I am convinced that self-learning and team works abilities are more essential, promoting the wholesome development of individuals as well as organizations.