The purposes of art have long remained a source of controversy. Many people are convinced that the absolute freedom of creation without being restricted by the authorities is virtually essential for an artist to bring his or her artistic vision to life. So long as the creation would not be offensive or negatively influence the society, I completely assent to this idea.

Since the dawn of mankind, art, which varies in vast forms, has been being considered as means of illustrations of artists’ emotions or behaviors towards their surroundings. Thanks to great artistic talents, the artists are able to honor the magnificent beauty of nature or express an extreme feeling through paintings or music. For example, many people have tremendously inspired by the painting “Golden Autumn” painted by Isaac Levitan or “The Scream” of Edvard Munch. Beside the pure creativity and self-expression purposes, artists are also able to communicate their ideas, political, religious or philosophical viewpoints in artistic ways that are more effectively and interesting to understand. Therefore, any governmental restrictions are likely to interfere with the artists’ sense of creation.

Nevertheless, art can be enormously dangerous or negatively affect the cognition of people, especially teenagers. For example, if a famous artist having high reputation and ability to influence on public opinion attempts to include offensive content or bias into his art piece, young people can misconceive and have wrong belief in something. Hence, governmental control is necessary to maintain the legality of art.

In conclusion, artists should not be interfered in their artistic creation or activities as long as their works have positive influence on the society. Besides, legal restrictions are also essential to ensure that art will not be taken advantage for any bad purposes.