In their written language, an increasing number of people tend to use less serious or formal tone. I think this phenomenon results from three main reasons, and its advantages outweigh the drawbacks.

The first reason for the shift in the style of linguistic expression is the influence of technology, namely computers and smartphones. Because these devices have become the principal means of communication, some people tend to type faster and shorter so that they can transfer more information. Inevitably, formal linguistic structures, which are usually long and complicated, might be considered time-consuming and distracting. Therefore, less formal language, with the tacit agreement between both sides, is preferred. Secondly, many writers avoid using serious styles because they want to maintain a more friendly atmosphere and a closer interaction with their readers. We should make it clear that being less formal does not equivalent to being informal or somewhat impolite. Finally, unnecessarily sophisticated language might cloud the attempt of readers to grasp writers’ intention. For example, in a factory, a new regulation written in an easy tone might help workers understand better.

Although some are convinced that this development is degrading the integrity of language, I think it is a positive evolution of our society. In academic arena, using less formal linguistic structures reduces the pressure writing and reading of both writers and readers. Without paying attention to strict grammar rules or tones, writers are able to express their ideas more naturally. Secondly, this tendency might encourage young writers to write. Informal or inappropriate language, of course, should not be employed or misused any situation.

In conclusion, there are some reasons why people have become more relaxed in their written language, and I believe the benefits of this change are greater than its drawbacks.