Knowing how to make a group presentation is the most important task for anyone in the world of work today.

How important are presentation and public speaking skills, compared with various other work skills?

Which skill is the most important ability for most people these days?

The modern workplace requires workers to possess a range of skills. Among these, the ability to deliver a group presentation has been argued to be the most vital. While it does serve a particular role, I would argue that it is not as important as multifaceted management, which will be proved in the essay below.

There are indeed compelling reasons why presentation and public speaking abilities are coveted. Fundamentally, the skill ensures information delivery is clear and adequate, which is crucial in business activities. For instance, in meetings, employees are often required to report notable work progress and impediments that need urgent addressing. Knowing how to articulate an idea and compel listeners to pay attention is important for one to make an individual impression, which may lead to further prospects of promotion within the ranks of a company. Likewise, leaders and managers, also utilize their verbal skills for various purposes, including negotiating and delivering speeches. However, the skill is also becoming increasingly replaceable, evident by the use of online reports and personnel outsourcing to prominent speakers outside.

In comparison to the ability to construct a group presentation, the ability to manipulate management techniques to varying effects is far more important and is the most instrumental ability at work. On a individual level, effective management enables employees to work productively and develop intrinsic sources of motivation such as personal growth. This could be exemplified by the fact that workers can make plans for their work, review their expectations and troubleshoot issues to further improve their workflow and overall capabilities. On an interpersonal level, the skill is strategic for coordinating talents and dividing workloads. A team leader, for instance, needs to assign tasks to able team members, spending enough time giving needed support while still balancing their own duties to ensure general work progress.

In brief, albeit of value, presentation and public speaking skills could be substituted and thus, only secondary to a more imperative skillset, which is management on multiple levels.