It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as South pole.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in various fields have led to impressive achievements, one of which is to make journeys to far-flung natural environments such as the South Pole possible. As will be demonstrated in the following essay, this development is more harmful than beneficial.

Regarding the advantages, proponents of this development first highlight the fact that it allows for expanding humans’ survival on Earth. Being able to travel to formerly inaccessible areas is the precursor to acquiring more information about them, which could then be utilized to make them more hospitable for tourism or for long-term settlement. Furthermore, this is also an encouraging start, catalyzing revolutionary developments in various fields, including material science, transportation and adaptive food science. For instance, to adapt to the extreme colds characteristic of the South pole, people need highly insulating materials for clothing and housing, vehicles that are compatible with slippery surfaces and ways to maintain food supplies.

Having examined these gains, it is of paramount importance that the pitfalls are also well-understood. Naturally, travelling to these far-off places requires substantial amounts of human and financial resources, which may dilute efforts needed to tackle other more urgent current issues such as overpopulation and poverty. However, the most damaging repercussion roots in the possible disturbances to these primarily pristine habitats. Aside from problems of pollution and overexploitation readily seen in formerly untouched forests and caves, activities in places like the South Pole run the risk of releasing ancient viruses and bacteria along with a surplus amount of greenhouse gases. As mankind is still combating against diseases and climate change, the aforementioned threats are guaranteed to wreak havoc.

Considering both sides of the development, it is in my conviction that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. Albeit promising, travelling to certain far-off areas not only diverts needed resources to tackle more prevailing problems but also entails irreversible damages in the form of potent pathogens and accelerated global warming.