Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid leave, believing this benefits the individual and the organization. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Both employers and employees share an interest in effective work arrangements. Concerning these ideas, a rather polarizing initiative is centralized around giving employees a fixed amount of unpaid leave. Both favoring and rejecting viewpoints of such a policy, along with my standpoint, will be discussed in the following essay.

Proponents of the idea argue that unpaid leave has promising individual and organizational benefits. For workers, it ensures their work is kept in bounds by discouraging them from working altogether, which is the first step towards redressing and maintaining work-life balance. Those who earn more by committing more hours such as teachers and cashiers may allocate more time for self-improving and energy-replenishing activities like their hobbies. Organizations that adopt such a policy could experience many positive changes. If employees are recharged and more balanced, the work productivity and quality will likely be heightened and expenses on personnel are kept in control.

Nonetheless, there are convincing arguments in opposition to unpaid leave. Forefront among them is the fact that most workers prefer paid leave, as it ensures their money flow. The overwhelming popularity of the paid-leave policy is evident by the fact that most companies allow their employees to have at least one day off from work while still being paid the full salary. It is also sensible for organizations not to switch from such a prominent option to a less popular counterpart. Without the universal appeal of paid leave, it is more challenging for companies to recruit and keep employees, which stagnates the organization’s growth and even causes an eventual dissolution.

Having examined both views, it is of my conclusion that necessitating a fixed amount of unpaid leave does not make business sense and its downsides far outweigh its gains.