Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid leave, believing this benefits the individual and the organization. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Both employees and employers share a mutual interest in effective work arrangements. Among these is the rather polarizing unpaid sabbatical leave policy, which is supported by some people and rejected by others. Such opposite viewpoints will be elucidated in the following essay before a final conclusion is reached.

Proponents of the unpaid approach highlight its merits to individuals and companies. Given a fixed amount of unsubsidized sabbaticals, employees are encouraged to spend their time doing other activities, such as pursuing their hobbies and taking courses in fields of their interest. This level of freedom, in principle, results in workers returning to work, refreshed and more committed to their job. Oftentimes, this is a boon for companies. Aside from the consequent heightened productivity, companies do not suffer financial loss and it is easier for departments to downsize without having to dispense with the services of their employees.

However, there are convincing arguments in opposition to the unpaid leave proposal. The policy itself is more suited to academic settings, such as universities or research laboratories, as tasks in these workplaces are short-term and could be completed discreetly. In a majority of organizations, however, workers prefer their contracts to encompass paid leave as it ensures their earnings, and thus, life security. Without the appeal of this policy, it is likely that companies will lose their retention power as employees drift to companies with the paid sabbaticals’ competitive edge. As a result, while cost is reduced in some areas, expenses in recruiting and training new employees are incurred.

Having examined both views, it is in my conviction that the upsides of unpaid leave are outweighed by its pitfalls. What is more, while the policy is still of value, it is more compatible with workplaces in which job duties are short-term and not inextricably intertwined.