People who do not use social media networks will always fall behind in career development opportunities.

To what extent do you feel that this is an accurate and important prediction?

The importance of presence on social networking sites has been a topic of interest in recent times. It has even been suggested that ineffective utilization of such powerful platforms inevitably hampers one’s career growth. Despite being true to a number of cases, the comment is largely groundless, as will be shown in the following essay.

It is no coincident that social media networks play an indispensable role in keeping many businesses thriving in a competitive world. The key role of these sites is to expand the scale of virtual interaction, attracting new customers and building a sizeable following. This lays the foundation for future business activities. Social influencers and streamers have learnt to exploit such a fertile land, as they are given lucrative deals to endorse certain products to their followers. Those with an established career can also harness social media for the same effect. For instance, there are a number of doctors and lawyers who record videos to post on Youtube to attract viewers, generating another income source and further fortifying their careers in real life.

However, to claim that one’s career will always be retarded if not for social media is an exaggeration. First and foremost, for the majority of careers, advancement is achieved when skills have been bolstered and sufficient experience has been gained as they are acknowledged accordingly. For instance, a person cannot work as a doctor without a college degree, not to mention having to train for an extended period of time. Interpersonal skills also factor in, especially the ability to negotiate and persuade. This is best illustrated by a businessman’s efforts to secure important business deals and up his status. Evidently, having a known presence on social media has little to do with the aforementioned progression. If anything, there runs a risk to improper management of accounts on these sites, as leaking a sensitive photo or sharing a controversial post has been enough for companies to dispense with the services of some careless employees.

In brief, while career development can be facilitated by virtual social platforms, these are by no means the driving factor for everyone. While some professions may benefit tremendously, at its core, growth is only achieved when specialized and socializing skills have been improved.