People who do not use social media networks will always fall behind in career development opportunities.

To what extent do you feel that this is an accurate and important prediction?

The advent of virtual environment has offered extremely quick and effective means of information circulation. These media, however, are not as credible as more traditional ones like newspaper and job agencies. Furthermore, they are mostly used for entertainment. As a result, people tend to feel reluctant in using the media to find a job. Having said that, large companies normally announce their job vacancies in newspaper, job agencies or websites designed for this purpose which will even further decline the importance of such social media.

Given that one finds a job through social media, the contributing factors in maintaining and job progression are qualifications, interpersonal communications besides their undeniable role in finding a job. For example, a qualified PhD graduate has more chance to find a job through their social circles than in the jungle of Internet. Following that, their work skills and efficiency is a more defining factor to further career than number of group membership in social media. The other deciding factor is people skills. At work, someone who is more friendlier with colleagues and more productive has more potential to step up the ladder in their profession.

In conclusion, though social media are integral part of our lives and they may play their part in finding job, career progression cannot be guaranteed by social media.