People who do not use social media networks will always fall behind in career development opportunities.

To what extent do you feel that this is an accurate and important prediction?

Social networking sites have been a fertile land with lots of potential for career growth. Some people have even remarked that without utilizing these networks, it is inevitable that one will miss out on significant opportunities to further one's career. From my standpoint, I largely disagree with this view.

On one hand, social sites have proved to be a transformational element in the advancement of some people’s success. The roots of this tend to be in the far-reaching exposure that is provided by these platforms, which regularly attract millions of users. Being able to tap into such a digital market, one can promote their products or services. Indeed, this is true for those whose jobs are strongly tied to online viewers, such as streamers, Youtubers or social media influencers. For this reason, their strong presence on the Internet is the precursor to the considerable success that follows.

However, the aforementioned cases only constitute a marginal proportion of all jobs. Also, while social media initiate a short burst of success, a career on these sites, at its core, can only be sustained in the same way as with other offline occupations, which is with the generation of values. This is exemplified by the fact that without exception, successful people on social media choose to venture into different areas, diversifying ways to provide new contents to their viewers. Furthermore, for certain professions, there are prerequisite requirements that must be met before familiarity with social networks is considered. Practicing medicines, teaching or working as a technician, for example, all demand recognized qualifications and substantive training. Lastly, people must also be wary of the downsides of social media, as companies are willing to dispense with the service of employees who leak sensitive photos or post controversial topics on their accounts.

In brief, while I acknowledge that social media platforms have catapulted many people to new heights in their careers, it is in my conviction that not only these cases are rare but social media only play a supplementary role. For most careers to ascend, there are more important elements, ranging from official qualification to real values creation.