In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, University, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, an increasing number of adults have opted to live with their parents after their college graduation or even having embarked on their career. While there are gains to this trend, they are outweighed by the drawbacks, as will be demonstrated in the following essay.

Proponents of this trend highlight the benefit of better care and emotional support for both young members in the family and the elderly. This could be true in the event of sickness or the family or the loss of someone in the extended family. Also, at the beginning of one’s career, there may be a range of issues to sort out, including living expenses, suitable accommodation and social security. In cities such as Tokyo and New York City, as an example, the cost of renting a house or an apartment can be well above the salary of many jobs, resulting in people having to stay in their cars instead. For this reason, living with parents and sharing the bills seem a sensible temporary solution for young graduates while their professional life is gradually established for them to be financially independent.

However, there are pitfalls to this trend that need to be addressed. First and foremost, as different generations often have dissimilar lifestyles, living together can cause discomfort to all members. For instance, young workers may have to alternate shifts at work, leading to inconvenience that may disturb their parents’ schedule and habits. Similarly, young adults may lack a sense of privacy and personal time, as parents may accidentally trespass. To resolve this, young people can share rental fees with their flat mates to have a place of their own. In addition, in place of keeping daily interactions, visits to their parents on the weekend or each month can also be a viable alternative to maintaining family ties as less frequent get-togethers can also make each visit more special.

In brief, albeit advantageous in some aspects, there are more drawbacks to sharing living space with parents.