Among the numerous decisions made by adults, moving out is not the easiest. Many choose not to, resulting in advantages that greatly outweigh the disadvantages.

The first disadvantage relates to the ability to attain independence. Although it seems irrelevant whether or not the adult lives with their parents, it appears to be the opposite in practice. Many adults continue to live the life of a spoiled adolescent, which is understandable given that humans and animals do not alter their behavior if there is no interference. In addition, the problem becomes more complicated when the adult finds a lifelong partner who is unwilling to share the living space. Reasons can be as plausible as mismatched lifestyles, and it is only a matter of time before the decision to move is made; otherwise, someone will suffer.

However, there are advantages to living with one's parents, such as financial advantages. It is no longer practical to own a home, as real estate prices have reached their peak and will continue to rise as long as the world's population continues to grow. Sharing housing is something to consider, but it is not all that different from living with a family. The adult may also choose to spend more time with their parents and assist them in times of need. It is terrible to realize that there is so little time left, and if they wish to strengthen the family bond, living with them is preferable.

In conclusion, although not moving out may discourage independence and be problematic should a person find a spouse, the decision can help a person's finances and allow them to repay their parents' care and affection. Appropriate measures can be discussed and taken to mitigate these disadvantages.