Some people say free time activities for children should be organized by their parents. Others say that children should be free to choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

How children’s free time should be organized has been a heated debate. Two schools of thought can be clearly seen, with one assuming it is the parents’ obvious obligation to decide whereas it is the children’s right in the opinion of the other. Mine, however, can be considered a balance between the two, which shall be discussed in detail in this essay.

Having been the guardians of the young minds since birth, parents have the right to encourage good habits they believe are necessary to reinforce in their children. At the same time, pastime activities they view as unhelpful in the development of their children should also be discouraged. It is so because with little life experience, the immature minds tend to be unable to tell what activities bring about benefits and what do not. Adults’ interference, hence, can be considered the norm.

The young minds’ needs, preferences, and opinions, also, must be taken into consideration when it comes to deciding what their past time looks like. While many children choose to fill their schedule with temporal entertainment activities without supervision, it is not rare to find one’s timetable exclusively crammed with lessons after lessons, when the parents know no boundaries. Properly guided and given sufficient time spent on themselves, children can too be well-aware of their developmental path, although subconsciously, and make wise decisions accordingly.

To sum up, both children’s and parents’ opinions matter, in planning the children’s free time. Should it be properly executed, the children can expect great potential of themselves and endless opportunities down their path.