Across the globe, going after a healthy lifestyle has been a strong sentiment. Some assume it is easier to pursue in the countryside, while others think modern city life allows for better health. I choose to reside with the former view, as I believe life in the countryside is far more healthful.

Cities, indeed, can provide the best treatment should their inhabitants fall ill. Not just modern equipment, hospitals in cities come with a denser distribution as well, evenly scattered across the area to assure the lowest rate of patient overload. Even large complexes have built-in hospitals, providing quick access should patients seek for emergency health check-ups. These are the advantages that residents in the countryside do not get to enjoy.

They, on the other hand, inherit a myriad of health benefits. Exempting oneself from the polluted city atmosphere, first and foremost, can result in positive changes in the respiratory system. To be distant from the bustling pace can also decelerate respiration as well as the rate of aging, prolonging life expectancy. Residing in such an area allows for better disease prevention, and I believe prevention is better than treatment.

In short, while the countryside is not as capable as the city in providing its residents with good treatment, it improves their health quality. There being more healthy people means less strain put on the healthcare system, allocating more opportunities into the hands of those really in need.