It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sport person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There is a heated debate between the two sides of people today. One side believes that talents are the most significant factor to help a person achieve their areas like sport or music. But, the other thinks that learning and practicing will support people to become skilled athletes or musicians. In this essay, I would like to discuss both points of view and strengthen my maintenance to the latter view.

On the one hand, some people emphasize that the gifted person tends to acquire proficiency in singing, drawing, or sports with less effort than others. A clear example is a difference in body conditions between Asian and Western athletes. In a soccer match, the Western’s sportspersons always run faster and longer than Asian because of their structure of muscles are more outstanding than the others. Therefore, it is easy to see why people follow the above idea.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that talents are important to get an achievement in some aspects, but without practicing and learning people cannot develop their potentials or become a good player or performer. One good illustration of this is parents cannot realize their children’s talents if they do not allow them to learn something news. Moreover, practice makes a man perfect. Although somebody is born without aptitude or gift, under appropriate circumstances, good preparations, and constant practices, people can acquire skills that help them gain excellence in related fields. A particularly good instance here is Ms. Anh Vien, who is a female swimming athlete, had gained a gold medal in Sea Games by well-trained and hard practicing. In other words, practice is an optimal approach to success.

In conclusion, both perspectives are reasonable to follow. On the balance, however, I tend to believe that those born with exceptional potentials also need to hone their skills to accomplish expertise.