In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, University, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Among the many decisions adults make, moving out is one, and it is not an easy one. Many decide not to instead, and this brings about advantages that far outweigh the drawbacks.

The first drawback relates to the ability to attain independence. Although it seems irrelevant to whether or not the adult lives under the roof of their parents, the case seems to be otherwise in reality. Many adults continue to live the life of a pampered teenager, which is understandable as humans or animals do not change their behaviors if no interference is introduced. The problem becomes more complicated when the adult finds a life-long partner, who is unwilling to share their personal living space. The reasons can be as plausible as unmatching lifestyles, and it is a matter of time before the moving-out decision is made; otherwise, someone is sure to suffer.

However, there are advantages to living with one’s parents, such as in terms of finance. Since real estate prices have reached their peak and will continue to rise as long as the world’s population keeps expanding, owning a home is no longer practical. Sharing accommodation is worth considering, but it is not all that different from living with the family either. Upon choosing so, the adult can also spend more time with their parents and help them in times of need. It is terrible to realize how little time there is to do so, and should they look to strengthen the family bond, living with them is much better.

In short, while not moving out may discourage independence and be troublesome should a person find a spouse, the decision can aid a person’s finances and help them reciprocate their parents’ care and affection. Measures can be discussed and taken appropriately to minimize the effects of these drawbacks.