Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Others think they should begin after 7 years of age.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are divided on when children should attend formal classes. While some believe this should commence at a young age, others maintain it is best postponed after 7. This essay aims to shed light on both perspectives before presenting my personal standpoint.

The support for an early start is justified by several reasons. At the forefront, it enables parents to return to work earlier, which is a strong motivation for families in the working class. Perhaps, it was this very need that necessitated schools to be open during office hours, so that the parents can focus on their job while their children are taken care of by professional staff. Additionally, some people theorize that it can prepare young learners with skills needed to successfully integrate into more demanding levels later on. For instance, in preschool, young children are taught about basic rules, codes of conduct while still developing their literacy and numeric skills, all of which are essential for more advanced stages.

Still, there are convincing arguments in favor of delaying formal education until the age of 7. Chief among this is that children of this age have developed sufficient emotional skills to cope with the interpersonal dynamics characteristic of formal classes. For instance, at school, students are frequently required to socialize, coordinate and cooperate with their peers, which could be overwhelming for younger children, who tend to be less tolerant and more spontaneous. Also, it is worth noting that formal education typically has an intense academic focus, which is reflected in logic-driven subjects such as Maths and practice-oriented ones like Art and Science. According to educationalists, this content is more suitable for 7-year-olds, due to their adequately developed cognitive abilities.

Having considered both viewpoints, I believe it is more beneficial to start official schooling after 7. The key rationale here is that after this milestone, children are more emotionally and mentally ready for social and academic elements in formal educational settings.