The use of software makes it unnecessary for people to know how to spell words correctly these days.

Do you agree with this statement

The growth of technology, especially in spelling software, is indeed impressive. Such a development is perceived to have rendered knowing how to spell an oblivious task. Personally, I strongly disagree with this assessment.

First and foremost, numerous activities in real life make knowing how to spell a necessity. Daily tasks such as listening to news and reading newspapers require people to understand and differentiate words that may sound the same but are spelt differently and inferred to different meanings. Likewise, activities such as making medicinal notes or filling out forms can only be conducted with a proper mastery over word spelling.

Furthermore, it is impossible to separate spelling from grammar or syntax as they are equally integral parts of a language’s acquisition. For this reason, in educational settings, learning activities and tests across most subjects are all designed to promote and assess one’s spelling ability in varying degrees.

Admittedly, software that aids spelling has become ubiquitous. After much reiteration, autocorrect, for instance, is now able to provide sensible word suggestions while many smart apps can transcribe audio files into texts with a high level of accuracy. This is the fundamental cause for their integration into most smart devices or computer programs which involve verbalizing information. Despite such convenience and popularity, software is only a supplementary option. Devices that have spelling aiding features are not constantly accessible. Furthermore, the current level of accuracy is still limited within a range of typical contexts, which makes the software less advantageous and applicable than one’s actual skill.

In brief, it is in my conviction that the increasing permeation of software does not lead to the eradication of spelling as the software can only at best accelerate the process. In contrast, knowing how to spell is a vital asset for each individual to use to meet endless practical purposes.