For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.

What is the importance of learning to play a musical instrument for a child?

How important is it in comparison to the ability to read and write?

The significance of mastering a musical instrument has fueled serious discussion in recent times. It has been proposed to be not only equally important compared with literacy but also necessary for all children. From my perspective, this notion is largely untrue.

The ability to play an instrument does benefit children in multiple ways. Among those, the most relatable is perhaps the resulting sense of relaxation, as being immersed in this activity allows pupils to temporarily escape the pressure in their study. Also, a child’s overall development is facilitated. Learning to play the guitar, for instance, improves his dexterity, sense of rhythm and even elevates his tenacity to overcome challenges in life. Lastly, should a child be musically gifted, taking up an instrument may be an effective way to incubate his talent, laying the foundation for further artistic growth in later years? This is best exemplified by successful musicians, such as Mozart or Beethoven, whose early familiarity with musical instruments eventually enabled them to compose majestic works that can stand the test of time.

Despite the aforementioned significance, the necessity of playing a musical instrument has been disproportionately overstated. First off, not all children should be required to take up a musical tool as some may have neither the interest nor the natural aptitude for it. Coercing these individuals to train in this particular domain not only wastes their time but also inadvertently places them under extra pressure. What is more, playing the guitar is not comparable to literacy skills in modern times. The ability to read and write is of paramount significance for processing and exchanging huge amounts of information, not only in daily life but also in academic spheres. In school, for example, most tests and interviews are done with an emphasis on students’ ability to express their knowledge and articulate their comprehension in words. While showcasing skills with a piano or a violin could be impressive, fundamentally, it does not solidify a child’s verbal skills.

In brief, albeit of value, the ability to play a musical instrument is often more appreciated by those with an interest or talent for it and not comparable to one’s ability to read and write.