Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Studying overseas is a valuable experience that is highly sought-after by students and parents. People even believe that this educational choice ultimately benefits the homeland, which I strongly advocate.

Forefront among the possible gains is one that lies in future contribution. Overall, those who get to study in another country can develop themselves in a multitude of ways, gaining advanced knowledge about technology and business as well as deeper insights into constitutive elements of a thriving society. This is exemplified by the massive number of international students enrolling in programs in the USA or Germany every year. Upon completing their degrees, these students may opt to return and contribute directly to their homeland by applying what they have learned. Another viable option is to secure a job at the host nation, and make an indirect contribution by providing, for instance, scholarships for other aspiring students.

Another noteworthy merit is the betterment of international relations. Regardless of their option to stay and to return, overseas students represent their nationality in the host country. For instance, Indian students in the USA or the UK are often known for their diligence and friendliness, which are also two positive traits of Indian people. This indicates that so long as the students take care of their study duties and abide by the law, they help promote a positive image for their own country.

While there are indeed dismissive opinions toward the actual impact of overseas students’ contribution, practical results have proved otherwise. This is reflected in the economic growth taking place in Vietnam in recent times, as most of the top-ranking companies are either created or further developed by returning graduates.

Stemming from these arguments, it is in my conviction that there are many benefits to a nation if its students study in other countries, regardless of whether they decide to return or to settle in the host nation.