Light pollution (excessive light during night time) is a form of pollution that distresses many people, especially in modern cities.

What are the causes of light pollution and what solutions can you suggest for governments and businesses to take?

The life quality of citizens has been affected negatively by excessive light at night. This problem could be attributed to three main reasons and solved by two possible measures, as will be elucidated in the following essay.

Discussing three main sources of light pollution in metropolitan centers, the most prominent is arguably commercial lightings. This could be illustrated by billboards and sizeable screens with high levels of illumination, which have been part of the landscape in urban areas such as New York or Tokyo. A secondary source of nighttime lighting comes from street lights. Aside from facilitating the traffic flow, they also help safeguard urban residents by reducing dark areas and consequentially discouraging criminal activities. Lastly, the use of light in buildings must also be taken into account, especially in areas full of restaurants and bars that operate overnight.

Having examined these origins, there are several possible solutions to the current level of light pollution. First and foremost, within the space of their home, residents should be better insulated from undesired light from outside sources. The government could help materialize this vision by establishing standards in design for household and residential areas, which may enlist the presence of tall trees and the incorporation of light-blocking materials, as well as investing in necessary research. Furthermore, businesses also need to review their lighting operations, perhaps considering volunteering a day without light every month. On the sides, there are calls for limiting or even removing redundant commercial lightings and street lights. Albeit tempting, these are not practical, as some central advertising media have become local symbols and well-lit areas deter criminal transgression.

In brief, urban light pollution stems from the use of lightings in advertisement, street illumination and buildings. As such, possible remedies involve governments’ efforts to improve housing design and businesses’ light-off days.