Light pollution (excessive light during night time) is a form of pollution that distresses many people, especially in modern cities.

What are the causes of light pollution and what solutions can you suggest for governments and businesses to take?

Living standards of citizens in urban areas have been negatively affected by the presence of excess light after dark. Light pollution seems to originate from 3 main sources and can be lessened by 2 measures, which will be presented in the following essay.

Considering the contributing factors to light pollution in metropolitan centers, the most prominent is arguably the use of commercial lighting in public spaces, for advertisement or important announcements. This is best exemplified by the dominant presence of billboards and sizeable screens, which are brightly illuminated, in big cities such as Tokyo and New York. Another source of excess light comes from street lamps or security lights that are installed with the purpose of aiding traffic and deter crime by removing shadow areas. Lastly, nighttime traffic is also responsible for undesired illumination, as while headlights are used for navigation, they also shine into windows and gardens.

Having examined aforementioned causes, there are possible remedies to ameliorate the effect of excess light. While it is tempting to call for physical advertising platforms to be removed or restructured, some of them have already become local symbols, tied to the identity that attracts tourists. Also, it would be unwise to shut down streetlights as they are meant for safeguard citizens. A more rational solution, perhaps, would be a government-backed program, establishing standards for housing design that involve the use of tall trees or light-blocking materials for households. As for support from businesses, there should be a dark day, on which commercial lighting is reduced, so that residents get to experience a more natural level of darkness in the evening.

In brief, the current level of light pollution stems from 3 principal elements, which are the use of commercial lightings, security lights and traffic. In order to tackle the problem, governments should improve light-insulating standards while an occasional voluntary dark day is taken by businesses.