Knowing how to make a group presentation is the most important task for anyone in the world of work today.

How important are presentation and public speaking skills, compared with various other work skills?

Which skill is the most important ability for most people these days?

The competitiveness in the modern workplace requires workers to prioritize certain skill sets. The most valuable among these, suggestively, are skillful presentation and public speaking. While such skills are needed, they are not the most important. Instead, multi-faceted management should deservingly be considered so, which will be elucidated in the following essay.

Communication skills could indeed benefit a man’s career in a multitude of ways. To begin with, knowing how to make a group presentation enables employees to complete routine tasks such as making reports, presenting ideas and persuading listeners, the latter of which could be crucial in earning promotion within an organization. Furthermore, leaders can also utilize their verbal skills to deliver inspiring speeches and negotiating business deals. Still, despite the aforementioned upsides, it is an exaggeration to place presentation and public speaking at the top of all desired work-related skills. This stems from the fact that effective idea expression is only a final step that depends heavily on more substantive data input taken place earlier.

In light of the current labor market, it is the ability to manage on many levels that is universally coveted. Firstly, self-management is crucial for each individual to tackle vast quantities of information and maintain high-level productivity at work. Examples for this ability include being able to make and review plans, allocate sufficient time to important tasks, and keeping up with deadlines. Expanding on this personal skill, interpersonal management lays the foundation for business growth. Effective managers, who are often highly regarded and well paid, can justify this notion as when they proficiently assign tasks, troubleshoot issues and remove current impediments, the workflow is ensured.

In brief, it is in my conviction that the ability to present and speak in public, albeit meritorious, is more of a secondary skill. It is far less significant than the ability to manage, in both personal and interpersonal extents, which is proved to be the most valued work-related skill.