In some countries, more and more adults are living with their parents after graduating from college, University, or even after finding a job. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In multiple cultures, an increasing number of college graduates and working adults are making a conscious decision to live with their parents. While this trend has its benefits, they are eclipsed by the downsides, which will be proved in the following essay.

Discussing the possible gains of multigenerational dwelling, proponents of the trend first highlight the better care and emotional support made available between family members. Indeed, these manifest in various forms, ranging from joint preparation of daily meals, consultation in stressful times, and taking care of the ill. What is more, sharing living space with parents is likely an economical option, provided that payment for living expenses is properly contributed by each member. As an example, in cities such as Tokyo and New York, where living costs could be well above the salary of various jobs, many people must turn to their cars or other temporary shelters as they cannot afford rental fees. For this reason, staying with parents presents a sensible alternative, enabling young adults to establish their careers and achieve financial autonomy before a separate, independent life.

Having examined the aforementioned benefits, some pitfalls should be well understood. The most prominent, which stems from conflicting viewpoints and lifestyles, would be an uncomfortable life for all those concerned. For instance, parents may try to impose strict hierarchical rules on their children and trespass on their personal space. Likewise, young adults may introduce disturbance to familial routines for staying out late, skipping meals, and not helping out with household chores. In the long term, this can breed overly reliant adults lacking the crucial ability to individually resolve issues that is appreciated in the modern workplace. All of these problems can be negated by living separately. While financial concerns are acknowledged, living expenses could be shared with flatmates. Additionally, visiting parents’ place on a suitable basis is also a possible notion, as this can make maintain family ties and make each interaction more special and cherished.

In brief, while a family with both aging parents and young working adults has its merits, they are outweighed by the problems, which entail not only a low satisfaction level but also one’s regression away from individual independence.