Some people think that children should begin their formal education at a very early age. Others think they should begin after 7 years of age.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The most appropriate age for the commencement of formal schooling has attracted varying schools of thought. While some people suggest that children should begin at a very young age, others maintain it is better to do so after seven years old. This essay aims to shed light on both views before concluding.

There are legitimate reasons in support of an early academic start for children. At the forefront is the facilitation for parents’ return to their work routines. The majority of schools have timetables analogous to the working hours of a typical adult, from early in the morning till late in the afternoon. This, in addition to after-school babysitting services, allows the busy parents to focus on work while their children are monitored in secured environments.

However, some people stress that starting classes after seven might be more advantageous. It has been reported that before the age of seven, children often have trouble conforming to the rules and cope with the novel stress of homework and grades. As a result, spending time in structured classes at a young age proves to be a hurdle that several young pupils find overwhelming, gradually distorting the idea of studying into a frightening activity. Spending more time at home would allow children to complete crucial cognitive and emotional development, enabling them to integrate into a new educational setting with less obstruction.

Having considered both viewpoints, I believe that it is more beneficial to start schooling after the age of 7. Developmental benefits of early education can be replicated by interacting with children in the neighborhoods and simple learning activities such as reading books. While it is true that parents’ work may be affected for a longer period, it is a reasonable tradeoff for positive growth enabled by a strong foundation rooted in familial connections.