In many countries, truancy (skipping classes) is a worrying problem for both parents and educators.

What are the causes of truancy?

What may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

Across the globe, parents and educators alike share concerns about students skipping classes. Stemming from a host of reasons, this phenomenon may affect negatively not only each individual but also on a larger, communal scale.

Explanations for the current rate of truancy revolve around students’ lack of interest in studying at school and peer pressure. To begin with, sitting through uninspiring and overly academic lessons can gradually diminish students’ desire for knowledge acquisition. At the same time, students may see in skipping classes a chance to escape such monotonous routine at school, indulging in what piques their interest, such as playing games in cyber stations. In addition, peer pressure is a powerful influence on children’s behavior. Should a group of classmates propose the idea, a child may follow suit, as he is filled with either the urge to impress his friends or the desire not to be singled out.

Having examined the aforementioned causes, it is fair to say that repercussions of frequent truancy could be felt on many levels. For individual students, they may struggle to keep up with the academic progression in their class, plummeting into bad marks and failing to polish their study records. Unfortunately, this can trigger a long-lasting hindrance, preventing admission into higher education and rendering these young citizens intellectually unemployable. An even more worrying issue is children’s increased likelihood of getting involved in criminal activities such as vandalism or theft. Aside for possible material losses, it is the lingering sense of insecurity that reduces the entire community’s quality of life.

In conclusion, the alarming frequency of class skipping could be attributed to unengaging syllabus and pressure from friends. If left unchecked, this issue could undermine a student’s progress in life and also breed criminal activities, lowering the living standards for those around as a result.