In many countries, truancy (skipping classes) is a worrying problem for both parents and educators.

What are the causes of truancy?

What may be the effects on the child and the wider community?

causes of this problem, along with its repercussions on both the students and the wider community, will be elucidated in the following essay.

It is worth acknowledging that truancy stems from a host of reasons. Arguably the most prominent among those is the improper pacing and uninspiring delivery method of the current syllabus in schools. For instance, students may find large quantities of information taught in multiple subjects overwhelming, which is exacerbated by some teachers’ monotonous force-feeding method. Consequentially, skipping classes is viewed as a chance to escape a boring routine. In addition, peer pressure also factors in. Often times, it can be hard to decline an invitation to skive off from classmates, especially when there is either a strong desire to impress others or an invisible pressure to be part of a group.

Having examined these root causes, skipping classes can exert an impact that is felt on many levels. For individual students, their frequent absence from class impinges upon their academic progress and achievement, which is often reflected in their diminishing scores. In the absence of a good foundation of knowledge and skills, these students may find themselves ill-equipped, falling short of current as well as future employable standards. Spending time outside without proper supervision by adults also increases the risk of committing petty crimes such as shop lifting or vandalizing public property. This could lead to issues on a communal scale. Aside from materialistic loss and damage, residents in these areas have to live with unsettling, constant annoyance, which lowers their standards of living.

In brief, the current problem of truancy could be attributed to ineffective and unengaging programs as well as pressure from friends. If left undealt with, this can hinder students from making academic progress, potentially lead them off to criminal activities and lower the overall life quality of those around.