Some people believe that a country will benefit greatly if its students study abroad. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Studying overseas is a positive experience highly sought-after by parents and students. Some people even suggest that the benefits extend even to the home nation of the students continuing their education abroad. From my perspective, this is completely true.

Benefits for a country from having students enrolling in overseas programs are wide-ranging. The most common is that these students, while studying or after graduating, can find jobs that allow them to send remittances, reducing financial burdens for their own family. Aside from this, overseas students are often considered representatives of their homeland and as a result, play a part in bettering international students. Indeed, many exchange programs between schools in different nations have been created with such a purpose.

The long-term merit, however, is tied to the students' development and contribution upon graduation and embarking on their career. Integration into foreign countries especially developed ones enriches students with insightful cultural understandings and advanced academic knowledge in important fields such as technology and business. If they choose to return to their home land, their experience would prove valuable, adding new dimensions to established corporations or laying the foundation of their own enterprise. This explains why Vingroup, among many firms in Vietnam, are keen on recruiting overseas students.

Nonetheless, skepticisms arise when the second scenario, in which graduates abroad leave permanently, happens. While worries of brain drain should be acknowledged, it must also be noted that brain circulation will also be facilitated as skilled labour is circulated around many nations, which leads to an overall benefit. Also, graduates who dwell in another country are not impeded from contributing indirectly as they can still, for instance, provide scholarships and invest in startups in their homeland.

In brief, it is in my conviction that studying abroad is a welcomed force for good. While concerns regarding loss of human capital are not groundless, they are clearly outweighed by the gains in economic development and global relations.