Some people think that printed books are no longer necessary in this digital era as all writing can be stored electronically. Others think that printed books still play important roles. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In this era of digitalization where information is increasingly stored electronically, the significance of printed books has been placed under considerable scrutiny. While some claim that they are obsolete, others argue that the role of printed materials is nonetheless indispensable. This essay aims to shed light on both perspectives before reaching a final conclusion.

On one hand, there are sound reasons supporting the eventual replacement brought about by digital storage. First and foremost, there are various electronic platforms facilitating such process, including iCloud and Google drive. This allows nearly all written documents to be stored and accessed, which is the reason why many libraries are downsizing their physical storage capacity and incorporating digital resources. What is more, the surging popularity of reading apps as well as electronic notes also indicates a shift in users’ preference of means to access written information. An apposite example for this is the use of Amazon reader, which allows users to conveniently search for and access thousands of books. In combination, these factors seem to have attenuated the value of printed books.

On the other hand, according to some, the vital role of physical books should not be overlooked. While also serving the ultimate purpose of storing and sharing information, physical copies are not bound to the prerequisite conditions for the access of electronic books, such as electricity and the Internet. This means only printed books could be used mountainous areas or far-flung regions where infrastructure is inadequate. Furthermore, printed materials can also maintain their function without being plagued with possible health risks such as myopia and the reading experience is less likely to be adulterated with side attractions such as computer games on electronic devices. Finally, due to security reasons, some documents are best saved in physical forms. This explains why certain classified documents related to military secrets for instance, exist in physical files and arranged in folders.

Having considered the aforementioned arguments, it is clear that the usefulness of physical books belie those deem them unnecessary. From my point of view, both electronic and physical means of information storage are useful and it is down to the specific condition that one should decide which one is more apt.