It is controversial whether we no longer need printed books because we have access to an electronic version easily online. From my perspective, printed books are still necessary.

It is undeniable that these days as the development of technology and the Internet, we can browse through any book whenever we like through our phone or tablets. For example, we can read an electronic novel on the train or the airplane. And also it is handier to get information in our spare time. We do not need to carry on the books all the time. In a digital era, we just need to type on the keywords, we can get an amount of related information so that we have more opportunity to chose the useful one.

Although we can gain information online, books are still important. Take the old generation as an example, they had a habit of reading printed books, magazines, and newspapers for many years. It is hard to change in a short period of time. Besides, printed books are more authentic and reliable compared to the electronic version. The printed books must under strict censorship. Moreover, a real book brings us a special feeling. Some people enjoy the smell of books and enjoy touching books. Additionally, a child can read a printed cartoon book again and again. It is helpful to remember the number and the alphabet.

In conclusion, in spite of the popularity of electronic books, printed books cannot be replaced completely, as they still benefit us a lot in modern life.