Some people think that students in high or secondary school can choose courses freely, others think that courses such as mathematics must be compulsory.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Freedom of course selection among students remains debatable. While some suggest that high or secondary school students should select classes suiting their needs, others maintain that fundamental subjects like mathematics are mandatory. This essay aims to discuss both stances before concluding.

Supporters of early individualism in education highlight its facilitation towards personal orientation. Aligning school subjects with individual interests can satiate and bolster learners’ passion, consequently increasing their commitment to education. This philosophy is applied in some international schools, where a small number of students can opt for courses in Business, Music, or Coding instead of common subjects such as English and Mathematics. In addition to invaluable insights, independent scheduling also fortifies crucial work-related skills such as time management and task prioritizing. As a result, an early guided focus can give young learners a competitive edge when competing for a job or running their own business in their field of interest.

Still, there are convincing arguments in favor of maintaining lessons in crucial subjects. The cardinal benefit is that students need to acquire valuable foundational skills to function normally as a citizen. This notion is illustrated by the presence of mathematics in all educational levels, as without the subject, students would not be able to compute and derive logical deductions. Likewise, the absence of History and Science could render growing adolescents unrelatable to their culture and perplexed by common phenomena. Fundamental subjects provide learners with universally applicable skills and knowledge even when they lack a specific professional desire. Although their future jobs do not necessarily require all techniques learned in school, educated individuals can still benefit from applying them in other aspects of life.

Having examined both standpoints, I believe it is better to make crucial subjects compulsory. This approach seems more feasible as well since the majority of schools have limited resources and qualified personnel.