Some employers are willing to give their workers a certain amount of unpaid leave, believing this benefits the individual and the organization. Other employers see no merit in this arrangement and discourage it.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Both employees and employers share interest in having effective work arrangements. Among these is the polarizing policy of unpaid sabbaticals, which is embraced by some people and rejected by others. Such opposite views will be elucidated in this essay before a personal conclusion is reached.

Proponents of the unpaid-leave approach highlight its multiple benefits on both workers and their companies. Allow a fixed amount of time off without payment helps people to redress balance by discouraging them from overworking. For jobs of which pay increment is inextricably tied to working additional hours such as teaching or working as a cashier, this policy forces in a work-free time frame in which people can pursue their hobbies, returning to work revitalized and motivated afterwards. Such happier frames of mind may translate to further improvement in productivity and quality at work. Also, offering unpaid sabbatical leave minimizes expenses for companies, which will make it easier for departments to be downsized and restructured without spawning high turnout rates.

However, there are convincing arguments in objection to the aforementioned policy. To begin with, its counterpart, paid leave, is phenomenally more prevalent in most modern work places as workers are often drawn towards a stable income. For this reason, subscribing to the unpaid policy may not appeal to the majority of employees, causing them to drift to other organizations with the competitive edge of subsidized leave. On a larger scale, while saving corporate expenses in one, the approach incurs further expenses in recruiting and training new employees. Arranging time off without payment is not to be completely overlooked but it seems suitable to a limited number of work settings such as universities and research labs, where payment is calculated by the completion of short-term tasks like teaching classes or obtaining tangible research results.

Having examined both viewpoints, it is in my conviction that the downsides of the unpaid leave approach far outweigh the benefits, which causes the policy to be suitable for only a small range of work places principally paying workers for their completion of discrete, short-term tasks.