It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as South pole.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in a multitude of fields have enabled scientists and tourists to access far-flung natural regions, such as the South Pole. While this development has several upsides, they are eclipsed by the negatives, as will be elucidated in the following essay.

Concerning the gains, proponents of the development highlight its facilitation to expanding humans’ understanding of the world. Traveling to areas that were previously inaccessible is the precursor to further exploratory activities, such as collecting samples for research into local ecosystems and available resources. Derived information can factor in the utilization of these areas, not only for tourism or resources but also long-term settlement. Furthermore, this development provides an encouraging start, catalyzing innovations in various fields such as material science and transportation. For instance, adaptation to the extreme cold of the South Pole and navigating the continent necessitate novel insulating materials and vehicles that are compatible with slippery terrains.

Having examined the aforementioned benefits, there are dangerous pitfalls that need shedding light on. First and foremost, focusing on enabling trips to far-off regions inevitably diverts current resources from solving more urgent issues, such as poverty and famine. What is more, there is the risk of pollution and overexploitation once access to these remote areas has been established, as seen in the deforestation of several formally pristine jungles in Asia. However, the most lethal repercussion roots in disturbances to the formerly isolated areas. Human activities in the South Pole, for instance, have been warned to release dormant ancient bacteria and viruses and a surplus amount of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere. Compounded with current pandemics and global warming, these are guaranteed to wreak havoc.

Considering both aspects, it is clear that albeit meritorious in certain ways, traveling to far-flung areas is bound with overwhelming disadvantages, including diluting current efforts to tackle urgent problems, pollution, and incalculable damage by potent pathogens and greenhouse gases.