With advanced means of communication to get to remote destinations have become much easier than used to be. Hence, tourists around the world, as well as scientists, can achieve yet unaffected places such as the South Pole for their own reasons. In this essay, both sides for and against this tendency will be examined and will state that although availability may open a wide range of opportunity to discover new places, it also may jeopardize local surroundings.

To begin with, the ability to discover unexplored wilderness allows scientists with ease to make new research in a pristine place. This is important because the South Pole plays a crucial role in the Earth system. What I mean by this it connects all oceans in the world. No matter what changes in the South Pole happened, they always affect the world altogether. Therefore, making study in this place helps to grasp human influence on global climate changes. In addition, tourists from evergreen places appear to gain particular experience to see snow, to feel low temperature and observe peculiar animals. Thus, it expands their tourist destinations.

On the other hand, the presence of human being in many cases may lead to sweeping changes. To put it another way, having been allowed, humanity frequently brings about anthropogenic catastrophes which in turn gives rise to habitat loss and extinction of many species. To give an illustration of what I mean, let’s look back at the case of Siberian woods where rampant deforestation has led to the extinction of many species including Siberian tigers. Furthermore, overcrowded tourists’ destinations seem to threaten secluded habitats and apparently deteriorate the environment with litters and waste.

In conclusion, while achieving far-flung places such as the South Pole no longer is a huge problem, scientist and researchers may enjoy not only the great opportunity to obtain new experience of discovering new land but also making momentous research in a natural lab for all mankind. Personally, I believe that small possibility of negative influence from human activities pose a threat secluded place and indeed disadvantages outweigh their disadvantages.