Needless to say, that the Earth’s finite resources such as oil, woods and drink water have been using up drastically. Unfortunately, it gives rise to a shortage of vital resources and knock-on-effect on an entire ecosystem. However, these problems can be tackled providing that people, as well as the authority, would take drastic measures.

To begin with, scarcity of natural resources such as oil may jeopardize producing a wide range of consumer commodities. This is because a lot of goods made of plastic, rubber have been created from derivatives of oil in labs. Furthermore, it appears to increase the cost of another significant important material such as gasoline which may put under the threat transportation system and affordability of using personal vehicles. As far as clean water and forests are concerned, they are directly responsible for soil fertility. Having been used up, they tend to cause soil erosion apart from deforestation would lead to loss of habitat and in long-term perspective extinction of biodiversity. In addition, lack of water will put in danger the whole population due to drought and hence famine that caused by decreasing quantity of drink water for watering plants and decreasing crops.

To deal successfully with complexities the government should instill a sense of the importance of being a moderate consumer. This is important because only greater awareness of the problem would mean that resources are used efficiently. In other words, industrial processes, as well as people, can reduce their consumption. For instance, manufacturing can reuse water by leading it through filtration and people may follow simple conservation rules such as taking shower instead of a bath, using full washing machines on short cycles, watering plants by collecting rainwater. What’s more, developing alternative material that managed to substitute oil and all derivatives of it. To illustrate, solar and windmills energy, material based on organic substances and others might supersede oil-power vehicles being effective driving forces.

In conclusion, rampant consumerism of essential natural resources has dire consequences for humanity with negative prolonged effects on it. The best remedy would be global awareness of problems where everyone can make a contribution to address these issues.