It was predicted that people in the 21 century would have much more time than in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

It was supposed by ancestors that humanity in the next century would probably have significantly more spare time compared to them. Personally, I hold the view, that this forecast of the present did not happen by reason of the hectic pace of life and new distractions.

To begin with, people’s life has become by far hectic compared to the old days. The main reason for these sweeping changes is, apparently, advanced technology which put a strain on a human being. What I mean by this, people aim to move with the time learning how to maintain or work with cutting-edge machines in order to make a living as devices are fulfilling a lot of workflows. Furthermore, it was assumed that robotic mechanisms would relieve pressure on humanity replacing them on many manual works but on the contrary people work harder with tireless computers to accomplish more workload in less time. For instance, creating a mould no longer is a sophisticated process that used to take a couple of weeks; currently, it only requires a 3D scanner, well-educated employees with the latest knowledge of 3D technology and couple hours of work.

Moreover, in the present appear to was been created a tremendous number of entirely new distractions such as smartphones, laptops, computers with instant access to the Internet. In other words, conveniences that should entertain them with a wide choice of options are actually giving rise to distraction disturbing them from their free time. What I mean by this, despite the obvious advantages of the good of humanity such as leisure in one device, people get stuck in front of black screen scrolling the Internet. Thus, a new addiction appeared. This is not only negatively affecting their life as the others addictions but also may deteriorate generations health (poor eyesight, back pain, sickliness due to lack of workout).

In conclusion, although previous generations predicted that by the 21st century their offspring would have more spare time, however, it never happened. The present life is increasingly packed with technological innovations and instead of enjoying their free time people forced to perform on a par with tireless machines with new bad habits.