Happiness is considered very important in life. Why is it difficult to define? What factors are important in achieving happiness?

It is no doubt that happiness is what people always strive for in their lives. Although everyone seeks for it, few can actually put it into exact definition. This essay explains why it is hard to define happiness and unfolds key points to capture happiness.

The definition of happiness is hard to be demonstrated in a certain way since the meaning of joy varies differently to each individual. Nobody can fully feel or understand another’s happiness and we each have our own pleasure that we find comfort in. To some, the successful career or the achievements at school would give them joy, whereas some others would find happiness in sharing pleasant moments with their loved ones. Whatever the pleasure derives from, it is still considered happiness. Due to this nature, it is almost impossible to summarize happiness into one certain meaning.

Despite the difficulty in explanation, there are crucial steps need to be done in order to acquire happiness. First of all, people have to determine what is happiness to themselves. In some cases, people are too focused on their work that they forget that being able to share a meal with their family every day is what cheers them up. If the source of happiness can be realized from early on, they will have even more happy moments in life. Another note-worthy factor would be plan long-term steps to acquire happiness and be persistent with it. For example, one can set a meaningful goal like working hard to provide a fulfilling life to their family. When they achieve this, I believe it would bring tremendous happiness not only to him but also his family. Besides, it is vital to not get distracted from other temptations or short-term benefits on the way.

In conclusion, although it is hard to define happiness since it varies to each and every one, certain points can be noted to obtain happiness: Determine your own happiness and focus on achieving it.